Exploring: Parliament & The National Gallery

Today I went on a tour of the Parliament Building.  After seeing it from the Thames River boat tour a couple days ago, I was really excited to go inside.  I was a little nervous getting over there because I was alone.  I was very proud of myself for getting to our tube stop, finding the right platform, figuring out which stop to chose, and then finding the tourists entrance to the parliament building.  The tour was really interesting.  Our tour guide was this nice British woman who seemed to really love her job.  She explained all the paintings and rooms, and fun little stories behind different Parliament traditions.  In one room, there were paintings of Henry VIII and all of his wives.  She explained his life story in the greatest and simplest way I have ever heard.  We got to see the House of Lords and the House of Commons and hear generally how the government works.  

On the tour I met another guy from the Boston group, Hal, and we decided to wander around the area some more before heading back home.  The weather was so perfect.  There were so many people out and about along the river.  

While we were walking around, we saw THREE different brides getting their pictures taken.  It made me think of Donald and Kellen’s wedding today, and I hope that goes well! I’m sad I can’t be there, but I’m thinking about yall!! 

We did not have a plan of where to walk, but we ended up walking right past the National Gallery.  We had an hour before it closed, so we went inside to check it out.  It was incredible! It is overwhelming to see so many paintings at once.  We had to walk around fairly quickly, but saw some really cool stuff.  I was most excited to see Van Gogh’s Sunflowers, Monet’s Train Station, and Degas’ Ballerinas paintings.  I have taken a couple of art history classes, and it is really cool to see the paintings I have learned about in real life.  I am excited to go back and go on a real tour to learn more about the gallery.  I also really want to see the National Portrait Gallery when I go back! 

Leave a Reply

