Post Thanksgiving Blogging

Blog Time

I got back to Chapel Hill this afternoon after (almost) a full week of Thanksgiving break.
It was very nice to be away from school and classes and not have to do any homework. I really enjoyed getting to see my high school friends and exchange stories about our first few months in college. So far, everyone seems almost exactly the same, which is kind of a relief. Seeing everyone made me realize how fun it would be to go visit them at their schools, so I am planning some visits for next semester.
I had a good time with my family. Like I explained in my last blog, I had some relatives come to visit. Nine of us ran in the Greensboro Gobbler (a 5k run on Thanksgiving morning) and I made us all “Ellie Power” t-shirts. A few blogs ago I wrote about my cousin, Ellie, who has leukemia, and how we have bracelets and have been taking pictures of people wearing the orange “Ellie Power” bracelets. So I thought it would be fun to make orange “Ellie Power” t-shirts and wear them in the run. They looked really cool (especially because we were such a big group), and we got some good pictures, which I hope she will enjoy.
Another fun part about break with my entire (and extended) family was that we all made gingerbread houses together. Every year our family decorates a gingerbread house for Christmas, but since we were all going to be in town and we had visitors, my mom thought it would be fun to get a bunch of candy and make a bunch of gingerbread houses to decorate together. So on Friday after Thanksgiving, we set up a borderline disgusting amount of candy and icing, turned on the Christmas music (I was VERY happy about this) and covered four gingerbread houses in sweets.
Another good part about break was that I was able to get a bunch of new music from my sisters. My younger sister prides herself on her taste in music and enjoys finding the best songs (from movies, TV shows, or from her friends). So I was able to put almost 100 new songs onto my iPod, which I am very excited about.
The only bad part about break was that I was having so much fun that I did not do any of my homework. So now I am stuck with a bunch of reading and Spanish exercises and my web page. I am really dreading working on this webpage.

2 thoughts on “Post Thanksgiving Blogging

  1. kathstone says:

    Your break sounded very fun! It’s nice to have uninterrupted family time sometimes. You guys all seem really close and it’s impressive that you run together, especially to support your cousin. We had a Thanksgiving run in my town as well and it was always a facet in our school break. I am really jealous that you got to decorate gingerbread houses. I always wanted to do something like that with my extended family as a kid.

    One of my favorite Thanksgivings was with my extended family. I was in elementary school and before that year my family always celebrated the holiday with only the five of us. This time I got to eat turkey and pie with all of my cousins that we’re kids like me. We got to decorate gingerbread cookies since we wouldn’t be together during Christmas. We all got to stay up late and sleep on a giant pallet while watching The Goonies. It was a great time.

  2. Nancy McMahon says:

    Hi Emily, it was great to spend the holiday with you and your family. We had a great time, the run,the hike with the dogs and the Gingerbread houses! I wonder hhow much of the candy was eaten before it hit the houses. I know that I has a few but it wasn’t easy to snitch a candy while your hands were all covered with icing. You look fantastic and it is always fun to be with you. Thanks for the Tee shirt it was a great idea. Nlm

Leave a Reply

