Halloween

Halloween Blog

I love Halloween.  It’s a great holiday.  I love eating candy, wearing costumes, and seeing other people wearing costumes.  Yesterday was a great Halloween.  I started my morning with the Heels for Hope 5k run.  Participants were encouraged to wear costumes, and many people did.  It was really funny to see people’s costumes that also could pass as running clothes.  After the race there was food and free things and music (all things I like) and everyone seemed to be in a very good mood.

Another thing that Halloween brought yesterday was lots of visitors.  There were a bunch of people here from Duke, and NC State, and really all over the place.  It was really fun to get to see my friends that I haven’t seen in a while.  One of my really good friends from high school, Andie, stayed with me, and we had a lot of fun catching up.

So once Andie arrived, our suite (my room and the connecting room) turned into a Halloween workshop. I went to Michaels and Walmart this week and stocked up on paint and craft supplies.  We made a “Liar Liar Pants on Fire” costume and a “Jack-O-Lantern” costume, both of which looked quite good.  Also, it seemed like people kept coming into our room needing random things (cleats, moccasins, a hippie headband, jean shorts) and we had them all.  Everyone’s outfits were just coming together perfectly.  And it was especially fun, because when we went to Wal-Mart this week, my suitemates, my roommate, and I all got big orange sweatshirts.  So we were sitting on our floor, crafting in these big orange sweatshirts.  It was really fun.

I wish there were more occasions to make and put together costumes.  I would really enjoy dressing up for any holiday.  Thanksgiving (Pilgrims, Indians, and Turkeys), Christmas (Santa & Mrs. Claus, Christmas trees, and presents), and even the Fourth of July are all great opportunities to dress up and show some holiday spirit.  It just makes the holidays more fun, and it makes them seem more important.  Plus, there need to be more reasons to dress up, because it is really fun.  And it looked like most people had fun putting together their costumes.  There was quite the array of outfits on Franklin Street last night.  Nerds, pirates, hippies, astronauts, and a surprising number of H1N1/swine flu pigs.  It seemed like there were so many people on Franklin Street.  I wonder if the police had any sort of estimate of how many people were in Chapel Hill last night.  It just seemed like a lot of people and a lot of energy.  I love Halloween.

Leave a Reply

