The Olympic Games

For our current English project, I am applying to be a photographer at the Olympic Games.  It has always been a goal of mine to work at the Olympics, and at the time the project was assigned, I had just attended a soccer game and thought how cool it would be to become a sports photographer.  So, I decided to “apply” to be a photographer at the Olympics.  But my work would not just be limited to the athletes on the field.  I would also want to capture the emotions of the crowd and the general atmosphere of the city.

The Olympics have always fascinated me.  The best athletes in the world all travel to one city to compete for their country.  The Olympics inspire patriotism within our country, and create some sort of “global unity” that is rarely otherwise seen.  They are one of the few events that are televised around the world.  It seems like a time where anything can be accomplished.  New world records are set, countries put aside their differences, and positive messages are spread.  For example, Lance Armstrong’s “Live Strong” bracelets became an overnight success after athletes wore them while competing in the Olympics.

I also love the inspirational background stories on the athletes.  They draw the viewers in and make them feel like part of the team.  Over the course of the Olympics, viewers feel like they get to know the athletes and find themselves following sports they would normally never care about.  The Olympics are the only time you can carry on a conversation with a stranger about Men’s Swimming or Women’s Gymnastics, and I love that!

I really hope to go to work at the Olympics Games.  Although photography would be amazing, I really would be happy doing anything.  I plan on working at the 2012 games in London.  I have no idea what I will be doing, but hopefully it will get me into some events.  I can not even imagine what the energy surrounding the city is will be like.  There are so many people and so much intense competition and emotion confined into one city and one event.

The Winter Olympics begin in a few months.  I am very excited they are happening this year, and look forward to watching as much as I can.  And if you want a little bit of Olympic inspiration now, Google search the 2004 Athens Olympics Closing Credits (the montage starts two minutes in, and it is amazing!)

Leave a Reply

